Tianjin Medical University, Mbbs In China, International Medical University

Established in 1951 as Tianjin Medical College, Tianjin Medical University was the first medical institution approved by the State Council after the founding of the People's Republic of China. The first president of TMU was Professor Xianyi Zhu, a renowned endocrinologist and medical educationist. In 1993, Tianjin Medical College and Tianjin Second Medical College merged to form Tianjin Medical University, one of the national "211 Project" key universities in China. Currently Professor Yongfeng Shang, a prestigious biochemist & molecular biologist and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, is serving as TMU’s president and the university’s sixth president overall.

The university is a dedicated and preeminent research and education institution with medical science as the core subject and life science as its foundation. It has developed the university into a multi-disciplinary medical university.

The university faculty is made up of a large group of distinguished professors and scholars from home and abroad. There are 8683 teaching, research and administrative staffs, including 8161 professionals. Of these professionals, 563 are professors and 987 are associate professors. Included in this number are an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, two academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, nine visiting and specially appointed professors of "Cheung Kong Scholars", four national "Thousand Talents Plan" professors, two national leading experts of "Ten Thousand Talents Plan", four winners of the "National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars", four candidates of the "National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talents Project in New Century" appointed by the Ministry of Personnel, 17 "New Century Excellent Talents" appointed by the Ministry of Education, 11 "National Young and Middle-aged Experts with Outstanding Contributions" appointed by the Ministries of Personnel and Health, 164 experts who enjoy the "Special Allowance from State Council", 229 doctoral supervisors and 737 graduate supervisors.

share_phone_icon share_facebook_icon share_twitter_icon share_youtube_icon share_pinterest_icon share_linkedin_icon share_instagram_icon email_icon top_icon