Shenyang University of Technology Chinese Universities-Shenyang University of Technology

Shenyang University of Technology (SUT), situated in Shenyang-a key modern city in the northeast, is an engineering oriented comprehensive university, with its subjects covering such seven areas, as engineering, science, economy, management, liberal arts, laws and philosophy. The predecessor Shenyang Mechanical and Electrical Engineering College founded in 1949 was renamed SUT in 1985, and it used to be affiliated with the State Ministry of Mechanical Industry. It was built by the central government and the local government since 1998, mainly managed by Liaoning Province.

    SUT is made up by 4 campuses, namely, Central Campus, Xingshun Campus, Science and Technology Park and Liaoyang Campus. The core campus-Central Campus is located in Shenyang Economic and Technological Development Area which is a center for equipment manufacturing industry.

    Covering a total area of 1,596,000 square meters and building area of 624,000 square meters, SUT has 20 Schools, 3 Teaching Departments, 2 Engineering Practice Centers, with 50 undergraduate programs and 20 three-year-term programs. By now there are altogether 31315 students registered in the university, including 16087 undergraduates, 2778 postgraduates, 1831 three-year-term students, 7236 on-the-job students and 3383 students of the Engineering School of SUT (the independent college).

    SUT is authorized for the conferment of Bachelor's Degree, Master's Degree and Doctor' Degree. 5 first-level disciplines and 17 second-level disciplines are authorized for the conferment of Doctor' Degree, and 71 second-level disciplines for the conferment of Master's Degree. The university also has 3 post-doctoral research centers in Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Material Science, and 4 Mater's Degree programs in Engineering, Business Administration, Accounting and Engineering Management, among which the Master's Degree program in Engineering involving 12 fields is entitled to cultivate MBA. Besides, there are 1 key discipline in Electrical Machine and Apparatus at national level, 4 key first-level disciplines at provincial level as well as 16 key second-level disciplines at provincial level.

    At present, there are 1351 teachers in SUT, with 3 academicians, 190 professors, 429 associate professors, 660 lectures, 48 doctoral supervisors and 25 young and middle-aged academic leaders. Among the rich teacher resources, 26% has Doctor's Degree and 77% has both Master's Degree and Doctor' Degree.

    SUT has established stable and long-term collaborative relations with over 41 universities from different countries, such as USA, Russia, Japan, Germany, UK, Australia, Korea Republic, Finland, etc. It has begun to enroll foreign students since 1985, and started the international cooperative education at undergraduate level and postgraduate level with University of Luton, Griffith University and Benedictine University since 2001. So far, the MBA program with Benedictine University has lasted 5 years and the number of oversea students in SUT has reached 900.

    Following the school motto of "work perseveringly with self-reliance" and the spirit of "hard work, plain living and ceaseless self-improvement," SUT is now striding forward to realize the goal of constructing an open high-level research-oriented multiversity.

share_phone_icon share_facebook_icon share_twitter_icon share_youtube_icon share_pinterest_icon share_linkedin_icon share_instagram_icon email_icon top_icon